I haven't so much as looked at an easter egg yet.  Such is my dedication to the task ahead that I couldn't even consider letting a morsel pass my lips........
OK, so that's a load of bull.  Anything that I call dedication would never have me skipping some chocolate but I haven't indulged at all this weekend due to a case of the lurgy.  Well, it was that or the after effects of eating at a Harvester (it's why they always ask if you've ever eaten there before by the way, as they rarely meet survivors).  This diversion from being a human being also means that I haven't got a great deal of training to report on this week.  

I managed a good paced 7 miles on Friday night (this is either dedication or having no social life) and was all set for the first weekend of my taper which would have entailed something around the 16 mark at a very easy pace.  Having missed this I was faced with the dilemma of whether to try and make up the miles today when I eventually felt like something approaching human.  As it was sense got the better of me and I stuck to a very sedate 35 minutes on the treadmill and even that left me feeling knackered.

Funnily enough this lapse in my training not far out from the marathon isn't bothering me too much.  Going through 20 weeks of training there was always going to be good and bad patches, injuries to overcome and the chance of getting ill (when you've got a two year old in your household who has a permanent trail of snot from one nostril the chances are higher than average!).  If anything I think that if there was a "right" time to get ill in the run up then this weekend was probably it.  My big runs are all in the bank and from here on in it's a case of keeping myself ticking over whilst cutting back on the miles so that I'm fresh on the big day.  

As well as the tapering in my training I will be making efforts to ensure my body is the temple it needs to be.  I've had my last beer (at my age a hangover now could last me for a week) and I'll not be letting anything spicy pass my lips from next weekend.  On top of that, I will be starting the pasta fest around the same point as I increase my carb intake and ensure my glycogen stores are full for when I need them most.  

So there we have it - train right, eat right and think right.  What could possibly go wrong?  Now somebody pass me that chocolate, I've got Easter to catch up on.....
Andrea Ford
4/1/2013 06:42:28 am

Hi Doug,
I really feel for you. I've had my calf injury, followed by an awful virus that's left me laid up for nearly 10 days. The only advice I would give , that's proven pretty solid for me is don't make up miles. You've done more than enough already to get you round, so don

Reply



Leave a Reply.