On The Wagon

Well they do call it the Long Slow Run I suppose.  Yesterday, for the second weekend in a row, I laboured through the long run at a snails pace with a sore head and alcohol rushing from every pore.  During the first week of my training I did wonder how I was going to adjust to running slower so that I could train up to the marathon distance.  Four weeks later I can tell you that all you need to do is attend the office Christmas party and you'll be running so slow moss may well begin to grow on you.  With a young family and a demanding job I don't get out too often so I can't regret making the most of the opportunity, but I was definitely regretting the Sambucca shots and the last few JD & Cokes somewhere around the middle of Portsdown Hill.  Today, the effects of a long last week at work and a couple of beers at Poker Night made me too lily-livered to even venture outside and I shuffled along on the treadmill in the warm.

It's obvious, but the last two weeks have definitely proved to me that booze, late nights and running just do not mix.  My days of having a skin full on a Saturday night ahead of 90 minutes of (admittedly crap) football are a long way behind me.  As I said, I don't get out too much anyway and I generally don't drink at home so I'm hoping that I won't have to try too hard to keep to the promise I've made to myself not to train with a sore head again. Dryathlon here we come....

Anyway, 4 weeks in and the quality of some of my runs may have been poor but at least I've managed to stick to the plan so far.  I'm slowly getting used to running consecutive days and with tired legs.  In fact this week I did answer for myself a question that has always bugged me - how can you ever describe a run as "recovery"? When you're running twice a week every run needs to count and you need to push yourself, but when you're running more often a slow steady 45 minutes after a heavy day really does help to expel some of that stiffness in the thighs and generally speed up the recovery process.

Next week brings the the first race I'm going to enter as part of my training when I tackle the mud and puddles of the Brutal 10 at Longmoor on the 29th.  Before that of course we have Christmas.  Whatever your plans, have a great time and I'll see you on the sprout boosted recovery run on the other side.



Leave a Reply.