Six weeks down of my twenty week training plan. For those amongst you who might be planning a guess at my marathon time based on actual data I ran a shade under 9 nine miles today in 1 hour 20.  The route was very flat, conditions warm with no breeze and I spent the time watching Luis Suarez make his bid for the FA Fair Play Award.  For various reasons my long run ended up being on a treadmill which actually avoided me answering the question that's been bothering me this week..do I drink enough?.

I was reminded on Friday of the time I tried (for a friend, honestly!) to order a mineral water in The Sheperd's Crook pub just outside Fratton Park.  The bemused barmaid looked at me for a bit, wandered off to talk to the manager in hushed tones and came back with the news that " we do tap". In Portsmouth it seems we might be surrounded by the stuff but we're not that keen on drinking water and I've always been the same when it comes to my running.  

When I very first started to run I carried a bottle of water with me but it annoyed me and constantly sipping on it seemed to be more of a distraction than it was worth.  I'm a sweat monster when I run but I've found over time that I can run for about an hour without need for any water until afterwards.  On longer efforts (I've never run more than about 12 miles in training) I take an energy gel or two in my pocket and that helps me get round.  As April looms and I start to tackle longer distances I'm going to have to work out how to carry drinks and how much to take.  At this point I'm shopping the web for water belts and hydration backpacks (any tips anyone has much appreciated).  Either that or I'll ensure I run loops of Pompey that include Goldsmith Avenue and I can pop in for a glass of tap....
Chris
1/6/2013 06:27:32 am

I use the Salomon skin pro 10+3 which is really comfortable to use. The water bladder isn't great and the mouth piece isn't the best i have used (compared to camelbaks) but you're the same as me with running and carrying water and it suits me perfectly for anything over 7 miles

Reply
Doug
1/6/2013 07:00:10 am

Thanks Chris! I'll take a look at it. I was looking at one of the S-Lab ones online the other day but 1.5 litres capacity didn't seem worth the effort (or the cost!). If this one is comfortable and it carries more I might give it a go.

Reply



Leave a Reply.